About Ninilchik (Dena'ina Athabascan: Niqnilchint)
The Ninilchik area was originally inhabited by the semi-nomadic Dena'ina people; tribes of both the Kenai and Kachemak regions came together to fish in this resource-rich area, creating a rich blend of traditions and language. People of Russian lineage began settling the area in the 1840s, hoping that Ninilchik would serve as a retirement community of sorts for elderly workers that couldn't handle the long journey back to Russia. Those workers were to run an agricultural community that would, in turn, support fur trading efforts.
Construction of the Sterling Highway, completed in 1950, provided a road connection to the original townsite and attracted agricultural homesteaders to the area. The new highway placed Ninilchik in a hard-to-beat central location. Today, the core of “new” Ninilchik extends north and south along the Sterling Highway from mile markers 134 to 138, encompassing the beaches and bluffs of Ninilchik State Recreation Area and Deep Creek State Recreation Area. Ninilchik is also the primary access east to the Caribou Hills. During the summer, a public boat harbor at the mouth of the Ninilchik River provides tidal access to Cook Inlet. It becomes one of the busiest hubs of activity in the community during the river and commercial fishing seasons.
Ninilchik is a great gateway to all of the recreational opportunities and natural beauty of the southern Kenai Peninsula. There is plenty to love here starting with the stunning scenery and old village charm of one of the Kenai Peninsula’s oldest communities.
A large charter fishing fleet based in Ninilchik focuses on Cook Inlet, and many of the boats use tractors from the shoreline at Deep Creek boat launch. Most charters target halibut and king salmon, which are heading up Cook Inlet toward their home streams to spawn; rock fish – a local favorite - are also caught. In season, river fishing offers king and silver salmon, dolly varden, and more.
Ninilchik Russian Orthodox Church
One of most spectacular sights along the Sterling Highway is the Holy Transfiguration of our Lord Russian Orthodox Church. Built in 1901, the historic bluff-top structure sports five golden onion-domes and commands an unbelievable view of Cook Inlet and the volcanoes on the west side of Cook Inlet. Adjoining it is a Russian Orthodox cemetery.
Ninilchik Original Townsite
The original Ninilchik Village is an inviting collection of historic log cabins and beached fishing boats against the spectacular backdrop of Mt Redoubt. Visitors can pick up a copy of "Tour of Ninilchik Village" brochure and then explore the site of the original community.