Alaska and Canada will honor a valid driver's license from any state or country for 90 days after entry.

Seat belts must be worn by all drivers and passengers while driving anywhere in Alaska. All children under the age of four, regardless of weight, must ride in a federally approved child safety seat while traveling in Alaska. Children between the ages of five to seven under 4'9" and less than 65 lbs must be secured in a federally approved child safety seat or booster seat.

Please note when driving Alaska's highways, Alaska State law requires drivers on a two lane roadway outside of an urban area to safely pull over when there are five or more vehicles immediately behind.

Alaska Tips

Culture

Learn More Alaska's Southcentral region, encompassing Anchorage, the Kenai Peninsula and the Matanuska-Susitna Valley, features some of the best the state has to offer for cultural travelers. Anchorage is home to...

Recreational Marijuana

Learn More In Alaska, it's legal for adults 21 and older to possess and use recreational marijuana (from approved marijuana stores), but...

What are the driving regulations in Alaska?

Learn More Alaska and Canada will honor a valid driver's license from any state or country for 90 days after...

Culture

Learn More Throughout the Inside Passage, cultural attractions abound. Sitka is home to Sitka National Historic Park, which houses an impressive collection of totem poles. Visitors to the park can wander forested...

This website uses cookies to analyze traffic and customize content on this site.
By clicking OK and using this website, you are agreeing to our privacy policy regarding the use of cookies.

OK