Ester

Region Interior

 Costumed people standing behind the Ester Gold Camp sign

Ester, ein historischer Goldgräberort, liegt 13 Kilometer westlich von Fairbanks und ist eine der spritzigsten und quicklebendigsten Gemeinden in Interior Alaska.

 

Über Ester

Ester ist zwar klein, aber an einer interessanten und bunten Mischung an Einwohnern mangelt es nicht. Mit Bewohnern wie Professoren von der nahen Fairbanks Universität, Künstlern, Schriftstellern und anderen Kreativen ist Ester stolz auf seinen unabhängigen Geist. Die Bewohner bezeichnen ihre Gemeinde oft als unabhängig, als ‚independent people’s republic of Ester‘, und meinen es dabei nur halb im Spaß.

Goldabbau findet in den umliegenden Hügeln von Ester zwar noch statt, aber der Ort  ist heute eher als Künstlerkolonie bekannt. Hier sind mehrere Kunstgalerien und Studios angesiedelt, die auf Malerei, Schmuck und Fotografie spezialisiert sind. Beim wöchentlichen Ester Community Market, der im Ester Community Park unter freiem Himmel stattfindet, werden alle möglichen lokal hergestellten Produkte angeboten werden, wie Honig, Kleidung, schmiedeeiserne Utensilien, Bücher und Kunstdrucke.

 

Geschichte

Ester wurde 1906 gegründet, als Minenarbeiter eine beträchtliche Menge Gold am Ester Creek fanden und war einst eine aufstrebende Gemeinde mit 5.000 Einwohnern, drei Hotels und 5 Salons. Der Ort belebte sich wieder, als 1936 die Fairbanks Exploration Company das Ester Camp baute, um einen groß angelegten Goldabbau mithilfe von Gold-Baggern zu unterstützen. Heute ist das Camp im National Register of Historic Places aufgeführt, die restaurierte Schlafbaracke und Kantine sind eine Besucherattraktion. Die meisten historischen Gebäude von Ester gehen auf jene Zeit

Erfahren Sie mehr über Interior

This historic mining town of Ester sits eight miles west of Fairbanks and is a one of Interior Alaska’s most spirited and lively communities.

About Ester

Ester may be small but it’s not lacking for interesting and colorful residents. Populated by professors from the nearby University of Alaska Fairbanks, artists, writers, and other creative souls, Ester takes pride in its independent spirit. Residents often refer to their community as the “independent people’s republic of Ester,” and they’re only half joking.

Things to do

Gold mining still takes place in the hills surrounding Ester, but the town is now best known as an artist colony. The community is home to a number of galleries and studios that specialize in paintings, jewelry, and photography. The Ester Community Market is staged weekly throughout the summer at the Ester Community Park. The open-air market features a wide range of locally produced art and products including honey, clothing, books, and art prints.

The town was established in 1906, when miners made a sizable gold strike at Ester Creek. At one time Ester was a thriving community of 5,000, with three hotels and five saloons. The town came back to life in 1936 when the Fairbanks Exploration Company built Ester Gold Camp to support a large-scale gold dredge operation. Today the camp is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and its restored mess hall and bunkhouse have been used as a visitor attraction. Most of Ester’s historical buildings date from that era and were either built by the company or relocated from nearby Fox.

You can step back into gold rush history at the Malemute Saloon, located at Ester Gold Camp. This historic building, dating back to 1906, is now a lively place to grab a drink, listen to some live music, and enjoy some food on the deck from local food trucks.

Learn more about Fairbanks area activities

This website uses cookies to analyze traffic and customize content on this site.
By clicking OK and using this website, you are agreeing to our privacy policy regarding the use of cookies.

OK